England names Commonwealth Team

England today named 36 swimmers who will make up the team heading to Glasgow for this Summer’s Commonwealth Games. The announcement, delayed after the conclusion of trials some 4 weeks ago, confirmed the selections based on proximity to the top 3 Commonwealth ranked time in 2013

The team announced matches the prediction made on these pages on the final day of trials, indicating that the selection policy has been applied exactly as written to give the largest possible team. Final event entries will be confirmed in due course.

That means first major championship call ups for the likes of Jay Lelliott, Jessica Fullalove, Nick Grainger, James Wilby, Adam Barrett, Adam Peaty, Rachael Kelly, Tilly Gray, Elena Sheridan, Lewis Coleman, Danielle Lowe, Amelia Maughan and Max Litchfield. Also falling into that category is British record holder for the 100m breaststroke Sophie Taylor, who heads into Glasgow as the top ranked Commonwealth swimmer.

Team Leader Dawn Peart was pleased with the selection “It is a performance focused team that has been selected with realistic opportunities for success while for some of the younger swimmers it will be an opportunity for them to make their first mark at international level.

“Competition in Glasgow promises to very strong with representations from Scotland and Wales together with major challengers from Australia, Canada and South Africa. This should give rise to some exciting races and we will work hard as a team to make England proud”

The announcement also confirmed 3 swimmers for the multi classification events, whch will be contested by Stephanie Slater, Ollie Hynd and Thomas Hamer.

England Team for Glasgow
  • Aimee Willmott
  • Amelia Maughan
  • Amy Smith
  • Danielle Lowe
  • Eleanor Faulkner
  • Eleanor Sheridan
  • Elizabeth Simmonds
  • Francesca Halsall
  • Jessica Fullalove
  • Jessica Lloyd
  • Lauren Quigley
  • Molly Renshaw
  • Rachael Kelly
  • Rebecca Turner
  • Siobhan-Marie O’Connor
  • Sophie Allen
  • Sophie Taylor
  • Tilly Gray
  • Adam Barrett
  • Adam Brown
  • Adam Peaty
  • Andrew Willis
  • Benjamin Proud
  • Chris Walker-Hebborn
  • Daniel Fogg
  • James Disney-May
  • James Guy
  • James Wilby
  • Jay Lelliott
  • Joseph Roebuck
  • Joshua Walsh
  • Lewis Coleman
  • Liam Tancock
  • Max Litchfield
  • Nicholas Grainger
  • Roberto Pavoni