canada names commonwealth squad

Canada became the first of the big three Commonwealth swimming nations to finalise their squad for Melbourne following the conclusion of their trials in British Columbia at the weekend.
A full complement of 31 swimmers will travel down under with high hopes of improving on the under par performance produced in Manchester, where Canada failed to win a single gold medal in the able bodied events. Highest hopes for success will be Brittany Reimer, who won the 200, 400 and 800m Freestyle triple at the trials, Mike Brown in the breaststroke events and the men’s relay squads, who own two silver medals at the world championships last year, beating the Australian teams in the process. The Canadians will also feature strongly in the EAD events in Melbourne, with 4 time Paralympic Champion Benoit Huot leading the way amongst the six swimmers selected.
The full teams are:
MEN: Ryan Cochrane, Scott Dickens, Brent Hayden, Andrew Hurd, Brian Johns, Mathieu Bois, Mike Brown, Thomas Kindler, Yannick Lupien, Matt Rose, Darryl Rudolf, Colin Russell, Rick Say and Desmond Strelzow.
WOMEN: Erica Morningstar, Brittany Reimer, Lauren Van Oosten, Maya Beaudry, Marie-Pier Couillard, Erin Gammel, Audrey Lacroix, Victoria Poon, Genevieve Saumur, Sophie Simard and Landice Yestrau.
EAD MEN:Benoit Huot, Brian Hill and Donovan Tildesley
EAD WOMEN:Chelsey Gotell, Anne Polinario, Valerie Grand’Maison