Reilly DQ – clerical error to blame?

Pullbuoy has learnt that a clerical error had a massive bearing on the disqualification and subsequent reinstatement of Jennifer Reilly from the 200IM final. It appears that Reilly may have committed an infringement on the breastroke to freestyle turn, but the judge wrote down the incorrect lane number to record the disqualification. Following the appeal by the Australian team, the error was discovered and Reilly given back her silver medal placing. Consequently the original result now stands, with Kirsty Coventry taking gold, Reilly the silver and Marianne Limpert the bronze. It appears that Liz Warden of Canada may have to hand back her bronze medal.