Big Shake Up In 2015 Podium Squads

Bill Furniss has lived up to the challenge he outlined to swimmers when setting out the vision for turning around British swimming last year. At that time he stated that individual funding would be based, at least in part, on progression towards predicted medal winning times in Rio, with added weight given to performances at the benchmark meet and not just season’s bests. He has been true to his word, with a significant turnover in swimmers on the top tier of Podium funding.

The squad has been trimmed by one from 2014, with 21 swimmers named, only 12 of whom were in the same group last year. Three swimmers, Lauren Quigley, Craig Benson and Craig McNally have moved to the Podium Potential funding tier, while the other swimmers are left outside the group entirely.

Those seven, Sophie Allen, Adam Brown, Daniel Fogg, Jemma Lowe, Roberto Pavoni, Robbie Renwick, and Liam Tancock, include four who won individual medals at the Commonwealth Games or European Championships.

Added to the squad is a host of up and coming talent, with 1500m bolters Daniel Jervis, Jay Lelliott and Stephen Milne the big beneficiaries, with relay butterfly maestro Adam Barrett, Calum Jarvis, Jack Burnell, Sophie Taylor and Molly Renshaw all rewarded for their performances over the summer. The group also sees the return of Georgia Davies to the top level of funding.

Last year’s announcement left a trail of controversy over some of the selections, and British Swimming will be hoping for no repeat this year, albeit it is difficult to argue with the inclusions this time around. British Swimming National Performance Director Chris Spice said: “This funding programme is a vital investment in future performance. It will provide valuable support to athletes for their continued preparation and development for success in 2016 and beyond.

“In defining our nominations to UK Sport, we performed a detailed analysis of athletes and their performances before meeting them face-to-face to discuss the pursuit of their goals in Rio or Tokyo. We have had to make some very tough decisions this year due to some outstanding performances last season, especially by our younger athletes.”

The Podium potential squad of 43 athletes was also named and includes backstroke specialists Jessica Fullalove and Luke Greenbank, who won medals at World Youth and European Junior level this year, along with Commonwealth representatives Rachael Kelly and Max Litchfield amongst others.

The funded swimmers named are as follows:

  • Adam Barrett
  • Adam Peaty
  • Aimee Willmott
  • Andrew Willis
  • Ben Proud
  • Calum Jarvis
  • Chris Walker-Hebborn
  • Daniel Jervis
  • Francesca Halsall
  • Georgia Davies
  • Hannah Miley
  • Jack Burnell
  • James Guy
  • Jay Lelliott
  • Jazz Carlin
  • Michael Jamieson
  • Molly Renshaw
  • Ross Murdoch
  • Siobhan-Marie O’Connor
  • Sophie Taylor
  • Stephen Milne
Podium Potential
  • Abbie Wood
  • Alice Dearing
  • Amelia  Clynes
  • Anne Bochmann
  • Caleb Hughes
  • Calum Tait
  • Charlie Attwood
  • Charlie Boldison
  • Charlotte McKenzie
  • Charlotte Atkinson
  • Chloe Tutton
  • Craig Benson
  • Craig McNally
  • Craig Mclean
  • Craig Bowman
  • Danielle Lowe
  • Danielle Huskisson
  • Duncan Scott
  • Ellena Jones
  • Emma Day
  • Emma Cain
  • Georgia Coates
  • Georgina Boyle
  • Harriet Cooper
  • Holly Hibbott
  • Isobel Grant
  • Jessica Fullalove
  • Joseph Hulme
  • Jordan Hughes 
  • Kathleen Dawson
  • Lauren Quigley
  • Luke Greenbank
  • Martyn Walton
  • Max Litchfield
  • Megan Briggs
  • Miles Munro
  • Nicholas Grainger
  • Rachael Kelly
  • Rebecca Sherwin
  • Rosie Rudin
  • Shauna Lee
  • Sian Harkin
  • Tom Allen

Banner image courtesy Scottish Swimming/Ian MacNicol