Full steam ahead for reorganisation of regions

The AGM of the ASA council has concluded that English Swimming should have 8 regions with enhanced decision making and financial power rather than the current 5 regions. It decided that the new regions will start their work in March 2004 and shadow the current regions until October 2005 when they will take over. The new 8 regions will be:

  • North East
  • North West
  • East Midlands
  • West Midlands
  • Eastern
  • London
  • South East
  • South West

    The boundaries of these new regions will more closely match the Sport England regions, hopefully facilitating a better allocation of lottery funding to the swimming regions.

    ASA press release