Need for Speed – Day 6 Selection Tracker

There was no doubt what the big story was on the final night in London – after all it had been building for weeks and the men’s 200 freestyle didn’t disappoint, serving up a race for the ages – but there was speed in abundance as the curtain came down on the 2024 Aquatics GB swimming Championships.

After a cagey but swift set of morning heats Duncan Scott found himself off to one side in Lane 7 away from the direct head to heads in the middle of the pool. But it was Matt Richards who emerged form the pack after James Guy had set a blistering early pace to touch first in 1:44.69. He only just held off Duncan Scott though who was just 0.06s back. Tom Dean and Guy made up the top four who were as expected well under the Paris consideration time.

Angahard Evans couldn’t quite do what she had been threatening all season as she fell just shy of both the 100m breaststroke British Record and the Olympic nomination standard with a winning time of 1:06.54. Kara Hanlon touch just 0.06 behind her for seconds.

Ollie Morgan completed the backstroke double after unleashing a monster final 50m to overhaul Luke Greenbank at the death. Both men made the nomination standard 1:56.27 to 1:56.39.

In the 100 freestyle, after a week of “will she, won’t she”, Freya Anderson did swim. Clearly still suffering form the effects of her glandular fever she was still able to finish 3rd in 54.59 but it was Anna Hopkin who took the top spot with 53.33 to secure her second nomination time. It was Eva Okaro who took second in 54.46, her second lifetime best of the day with Freya Colbert in 55.10 making up the top 4., but their combined time fell short of the nomination standard. The selectors now face a quandary as to how they treat the impact of Anderson’s illness on that relay’s prospects and also the medley team who CJ similarly fell short.

In the night’s other final, Amelie Blocksidge added a second national title, winning the 800 free in a British Junior Record of 8:32.61 but she was a little off the time needed for Paris. The European Juniors beckons for her this year.

Our assessment of the final selection position is linked below. This is only our interpretation of the policy which still needs to be confirmed. The team is due to be announced on 16th April in Stirling.

Paralympic Selection Update

The final night of competition saw another 6 nomination times secured after the heats as the total number swelled to 40. An update from the finals will follow.

  • Maisie Summers-Newton (SB6 100m Breaststroke)
  • Brock Whiston (SB8 100m Breaststroke)
  • Grace Harvey (SB5 100m Breaststroke)
  • Rebecca Redfern (SB13 100m Breaststroke)
  • Louise Fiddes (SB14 100m Breaststroke)
  • Tully Kearney (S5 100m Freestyle)
  • Olivia Newman-Baronius (S14 100m Butterfly)
  • Faye Rogers (S10 100m Butterfly)
  • Callie-Ann Warrington (S10 100m Butterfly)
  • Brock Whiston (S8 100m Butterfly)
  • Poppy Maskill (S14 100m Butterfly)
  • Ellie Challis (S3 50m Backstroke)
  • Tully Kearney (S5 50m Backstroke)
  • Maisie Summers-Newton (SM6 200m Individual Medley)
  • Olivia Newman-Baronius (SM14 200m Individual Medley)
  • Brock Whiston (SM8 200m Individual Medley)
  • Poppy Maskill (SM14 200m Individual Medley)
  • Stephen Clegg (S12 100m Butterfly)
  • William Ellard (S14 100m Butterfly)
  • Brock Whiston (S8 400m Freestyle)
  • Toni Shaw S9 (400m Freestyle)
  • Alice Tai S8 (400m Freestyle)
  • Scarlett Humphrey (S11 400m Freestyle)
  • Eliza Humphrey (S11 400m Freestyle)
  • Cameron Vearncombe (SM14 200m Individual Medley)
  • Rhys Darbey (SM14 200m Individual Medley)
  • William Ellard (SM14 200m Individual Medley)
  • Stephen Clegg (S12 100m Backstroke)
  • William Ellard (S14 100m Backstroke)
  • Mark Tompsett (S14 100m Backstroke)
  • Alice Tai (S8 100m Backstroke)
  • Poppy Maskill (S14 100m Backstroke)
  • Olivia Newman-Baronius (S14 100m Backstroke)
  • Megan Neave (S14 100m Backstroke)
  • Poppy Maskill (S14 200 Freestyle)
  • Louise Fiddes (S14 200 Freestyle)
  • Olivia Newman-Burke (S14 200 Freestyle)
  • Susanna Hext (S6 200 Freestyle)
  • Tully Kearney (S5 200m Freestyle)

Banner Image: Aquatics GB/Morgan Harlow